JEC Composites Campus

JEC Composites Campus

Die JEC World 2022 wird einen neuen Bereich anbieten, der Aus- und Weiterbildung gewidmet ist: das Campus Village, Halle 5.

Es richtet sich an die jüngere Generation und alle, die ihr Fachwissen verbessern möchten.

Die Nachfrage nach jungen und gut ausgebildeten Ingenieuren ist bei Herstellern von Verbundwerkstoffen und Verbundwerkstoffteilen hoch. Um dieser Nachfrage gerecht zu werden, arbeitet JEC World mit 8 Partneruniversitäten und Ausbildungsinstituten zusammen, die in verschiedenen Ländern Aus- und Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen anbieten.

Begegnen Sie ihnen vor Ort und nehmen Sie an der Campus Village Pitch Session am Donnerstag, den 5. Mai ab 14:00 Uhr in der Agora 5 teil, wo alle ihre Kurse vorstellen werden.

Entdecken Sie unsere Schulungspartner für Verbundwerkstoffe:

  • 14.10 – 14.20 Uhr: Politecnico di Milano
  • 14.20 – 14.30 Uhr: University of Patras
  • 14.30 – 14.40 Uhr: University of Limerick
  • 14.40 – 14.50 Uhr: EPFL
  • 14.50 – 15 Uhr: Hanyang University
  • 15 – 15.10 Uhr: IMT
  • 15.10 – 15.20 Uhr: The Native Lab
  • 15.20 – 15.30 Uhr: KuLeuven

 

14.10 - 14.20 Uhr: Research and Innovation on Composite Materials Applications @ Politecnico di Milano - POLITECNICO DI MILANO

The lines of research and the experimental infrastructures currently available at the Politecnico di Milano will be presented in order to communicate the main results recently obtained and the trends underway for stimulating collaboration with companies and research bodies around the world.

Referent: Roberto Frassine

14.20 - 14.30 Uhr: Nanomaterialien und die Zukunft multifunktionaler Strukturen Jenseits der Grenzen traditioneller Lösungen - UNIVERSITY OF PATRAS

Faserverstärkte Polymere sind im Vergleich zu traditionellen Werkstoffen wie Metallen aufgrund ihrer höheren spezifischen Festigkeit und Steifigkeit sowie ihrer größeren Designflexibilität zunehmend als Strukturbauteile gefragt. Aufgrund ihrer schlechten Out-of-Plane-Performance, die durch die geringe Zähigkeit und isolierenden Eigenschaften der Polymermatrix bestimmt wird, sind diese Verbundwerkstoffe jedoch nur begrenzt einsetzbar. In den letzten Jahren wurde eine Reihe von Versuchen unternommen, die Schadenstoleranz und Multifunktionalität von FVK zu verbessern, indem Nanofüllstoffe mit hervorragenden physikalischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften sowie einer hohen inhärenten thermischen und elektrischen Leitfähigkeit in die Verbundwerkstoffe eingearbeitet wurden. GNPs (Graphene Nanoplatelets), CNTs (Carbon Nanotubes) und GNRs (Graphene Nanoribbons) sind die vielversprechendsten leitfähigen Nano-Füllstoffe auf Graphenbasis in dieser Richtung, wobei die Notwendigkeit berücksichtigt wird, multifunktionale Verbundstoffe zu schaffen.

Referenten: Prof. V. Kostopoulos, Dr. S. Tsantzalis

14.30 - 14.40 Uhr: Composites @ Bernal - UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK

Die Universität Limerick im Westen Irlands beherbergt Composites @ Bernal, eine hochmoderne Forschungseinrichtung, die sich auf die Weiterentwicklung von Verbundwerkstoffstrukturen konzentriert. Zu den Projekten gehören Entwurf, Herstellung und Erprobung des Flügels der Zukunft. Composites @ Bernal untersucht auch die Möglichkeit, vollständig recycelbare Windturbinenblätter herzustellen. Composites @ Bernal verfügt über erstklassige Anlagen, einschließlich einer lasergestützten Tape-Placement-Maschine, mit der wir Strukturen mit gekrümmten Faserverläufen herstellen können. Die Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auch auf die Entwicklung neuartiger Herstellungsverfahren, wie z. B. das Spreizen, mit dem die Breite von Prepreg-Bändern bei der Verfestigung an der Anbringungsstelle variiert werden kann, was zu einer verbesserten Effizienz von doppelt gekrümmten Strukturen führt. Es besteht Interesse an Weltraumanwendungen, da wir ausfahrbare Verbundstoffmasten herstellen, die als Antennen und Satelliten in der Raumfahrt eingesetzt werden können. An der UL liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Nachhaltigkeit, daher konzentrieren sich die Projekte auf die Herstellung von Fasern aus Lignin, das aus Bäumen gewonnen wird. Andere Forschungsarbeiten befassen sich mit dem Recycling von Kunststoffflaschen zur Herstellung von Verstärkungsfasern. Wenn Sie mehr über die neuartige Forschung an der Universität Limerick erfahren möchten, kommen Sie gern zu unserem Vortrag, um mehr zu erfahren.

Referent: Gearóid Clancy

14.40 - 14.50 Uhr: Verbundwerktstoffe an der EPFL - EPFL

In dieser Session werden einige Highlights der Verbundforschung und -entwicklung an der Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne vorgestellt, von der Laborforschung bis zur Anwendung, und es werden auch einige interdisziplinäre, von Studierenden geleitete Projekte vorgestellt.

Referent: Véronique Michaud

14.50 - 15 Uhr: Entwicklung kostengünstiger umweltfreundlicher Wasserstoff-Speichertanks - HANYANG UNIVERSITY

  • Kostengünstiger Wasserstoff-Speichertank aus Hybridfasern
  • Umweltfreundliche recycelbare Tanks aus Thermoplasten
  • Berstversuche von Wasserstofftanks
  • Korea: Fahrplan für die Wasserstoffwirtschaft

Referent: Prof. Sung Ha, Hanyang Univ, CEO 3P.COM

15 - 15.10 Uhr: Studieren am IMT - IMT

Vorstellung der verschiedenen Ausbildungsgänge / Abschlüsse an den Schulen des IMT.

Referenten: Mylène Lagardère – Jose-Marie LOPEZ-CUESTA

15.10 - 15.20 Uhr: Sich mit Verbundwerktstoffen vertraut machen (mit dem Native Lab) - THE NATIVE LAB

Der Wandel vollzieht sich in immer höherem Tempo! Warum sollte das also nicht auch für die Verbundwerkstoffbranche gelten? Wenn wir uns die Zahlen ansehen, dann sind Verbundwerkstoffe nicht nur die Zukunft, sondern bereits die Gegenwart! Das Wissen darüber, wie man mit Verbundwerktstoffen denkt und arbeitet, ist jedoch isoliert und steht den Ingenieuren, die diese Materialien im Alltag verwenden müssen, nicht zur Verfügung. Dies stellt eine große Herausforderung für die Branche dar, der sich The Native Lab mit seinen Kursen widmen möchte. Diese sind darauf ausgerichtet, ’native thinkers‘ in Verbundwerkstoffen auszubilden und werden von echten Branchenexperten unterrichtet, die ihr Fachwissen in Unternehmen erworben haben, die diese Materialien bereits in großem Umfang einsetzen.

Referenten: Tommaso Müllejans, Lluc Martí

15.20 - 15.30 Uhr: Composites research @ KU Leuven - KU LEUVEN

From Renaissance philosophy to cutting-edge nanotechnology: as one of the Europe’s oldest universities, KU Leuven boasts a long tradition of ground-breaking research and high-quality education.

Referent: Ignaas Verpoest

Unsere Partner

EPFL
HANYANG UNIVERSITY
INSTITUT MINES TELECOM
KU LEUVEN
NATIVE LAB
POLITECNICO
UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK
UNIVERSITY OF PATRAS

JEC Composites Campus

JEC Composites Campus

JEC World 2022 will host a new area dedicated to education and training: the Campus Village, Hall 5.

It targets the younger generation and anyone who wants to improve her/his expertise.

Demand for young and well-trained engineers is high among composite material and composites parts manufacturers. To meet this demand, JEC World is teaming up with 8 partners universities and training institutes, presenting initial and continuous trainings in various countries.

Come and meet with them on the floor and attend the Campus Village Pitch session on Thursday 5 May from 2:00 pm in Agora 5, where all of them will present their curses.

Discover our composites training partners:

  • 2.10pm – 2.20pm: Politecnico di Milano
  • 2.20pm -2.30pm: University of Patras
  • 2.30pm – 2.40pm: University of Limerick
  • 2.40pm – 2.50pm: EPFL
  • 2.50pm -3pm: Hanyang University
  • 3pm – 3.10pm: IMT
  • 3.10pm – 3.20pm: The Native Lab
  • 3.20pm – 3.30pm: KuLeuven

 

2.10pm - 2.20pm: Research and Innovation on Composite Materials Applications @ Politecnico di Milano - POLITECNICO DI MILANO

The lines of research and the experimental infrastructures currently available at the Politecnico di Milano will be presented in order to communicate the main results recently obtained and the trends underway for stimulating collaboration with companies and research bodies around the world.

Speaker: Roberto Frassine

2.20pm -2.30pm: Nanomaterials and the future of multifunctional structures Beyond the limitations of traditional solutions - UNIVERSITY OF PATRAS

Fiber Reinforced Polymers, in compared to traditional materials such as metals, are increasingly in demand as structural components due to their higher specific strength and stiffness, as well as better design flexibility. However, due to their poor out of plane performance, which is dominated by the polymer matrix’s low toughness and insulating characteristics, these composites have limitations in application. In recent years, a number of attempts have been made to improve the damage tolerance and multi-functionality of FRPs by incorporating nano-fillers with outstanding physical and mechanical properties as well as high inherent thermal and electrical conductivity into the composites. GNPs, CNTs, and GNRs are the most promising conductive graphene-based nano-fillers in this direction, taking into account the necessity to create multi-functional composites.

Speakers: Prof. V. Kostopoulos, Dr. S. Tsantzalis

2.30pm - 2.40pm: Composites @ Bernal - UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK

The University of Limerick in the west of Ireland is host to Composites @ Bernal, it is a state of the art research facility which focuses on the advancement of composite structures. Projects include the design, manufacture and testing the wing of the future. Composites @ Bernal is also investigating the ability to manufacture fully recyclable wind turbine blades. Composites @ Bernal has world class facilities including a laser assisted tape placement machine which we use to manufacture structures with curvilinear fibre trajectories. Work also focuses on creating novel manufacturing methods, such as spreading, which has the ability to vary the width of pre-preg tapes as they are consolidated into place resulting in improved efficiency of doubly curved structures. There is interest in space applications as we are making deployable composite booms which can be used as antennas and satellites in space applications. At UL there is a focus on sustainability, therefore projects focus on producing fibers from lignin which is extracted from trees. Other research tackles the issue of recycling plastic bottles to produce re-enforcement fibres. If you would like to know more about the novel research currently ongoing at the University of Limerick, please come to our talk to find out more.

Speaker: Gearóid Clancy

2.40pm - 2.50pm: Composites at EPFL - EPFL

This session will present some highlights of composite research and development at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, from laboratory research to applications and will also present some inderdisciplinary student led projects.

Speaker: Veronique Michaud

2.50pm - 3pm: Development of Low cost Eco-friendly Hydrogen Storage Tanks - HANYANG UNIVERSITY

  • Low cost Hydrogen storage Tank using Hybrid Fibers
  • Eco-Friendly recyclable Tanks using Thermoplastics
  • Burst tests of Hydrogen Tanks
  • Korea Hydrogen Economy Roadmap

Speaker: Prof. Sung Ha, Hanyang Univ, CEO of 3P.COM

3pm - 3.10pm: Studying at IMT - IMT

Presentation of the different training courses / degrees at the IMT schools.

Speakers: Mylène Lagardère – Jose-Marie LOPEZ-CUESTA

3.10pm - 3.20pm: Become Native in Composites (with The Native Lab) - THE NATIVE LAB

Change is happening at an always higher pace! So why shouldn’t this apply to the composites sector as well? If we look at numbers and figures indeed, composites are not only the future but the present already! However, the knowledge on how to think and work with composites is isolated and not available to those engineers who have to use these materials in their day to day. This poses a great challenge for the industry, which The Native Lab aims to address with its courses. These are designed in order to create ‘native thinkers’ of composites and are taught by real industry experts, who have acquired their expertise in companies already making extensive use of these materials.

Speakers: Tommaso Müllejans, Lluc Martí

3.20pm - 3.30pm: Composites research @ KU Leuven - KU LEUVEN

From Renaissance philosophy to cutting-edge nanotechnology: as one of the Europe’s oldest universities, KU Leuven boasts a long tradition of ground-breaking research and high-quality education.

Speaker: Ignaas Verpoest

Our Partners

EPFL
HANYANG UNIVERSITY
INSTITUT MINES TELECOM
KU LEUVEN
NATIVE LAB
POLITECNICO
UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK
UNIVERSITY OF PATRAS